Back

Explore Courses Blog Tutorials Interview Questions
0 votes
2 views
in SQL by (20.3k points)

If I want to save any changes in a table, previously saved in SQL Server Management Studio (no data in table present) I get an error message:

Saving changes is not permitted. The changes you have made require the following tables to be dropped and re-created. You have either made changes to a table that can't be re-created or enabled the option Prevent saving changes that require the table to be re-created.

What can prevent the table to be easily edited? Or, is it the usual way for SQL Server Management Studio to require re-creating table for editing? What is it - this "option Prevent saving changes"?

1 Answer

0 votes
by (40.4k points)

Follow these steps:

Select Tools

Go to Options

Now, go to Designers-> Uncheck "Prevent saving changes that require table re-creation". Voila.

 That happens because sometimes it is necessary to drop and recreate a table in order to change something. This can take a while, since all data must be copied to a temp table and then re-inserted in the new table. Since SQL Server by default doesn't trust you, you need to say "OK, I know what I'm doing, now let me do my work."

Related questions

Welcome to Intellipaat Community. Get your technical queries answered by top developers!

28.4k questions

29.7k answers

500 comments

94.1k users

Browse Categories

...